Search Leaders

The search for a bishop and transition to a new bishop requires three important groups of people: the Standing Committee, the Search Committee, and the Transition Committee. Each has different responsibilities and roles.

The Standing Committee

Back Row: The Rev. Siri Hustad (St. Mark’s Cathedral, Minneapolis), The Rev. Justin Chapman (St. Luke’s, Rochester), Ms. Alexis Roy (St. John’s, St. Cloud), Ms. Sue Grove (Christ Church, Austin), The Rev. Debbie Brown, President (St. David’s Minnetonka), Mr. Chris Commers (Trinity, Excelsior), Mr. Rich Simons (St. Mark’s Cathedral, Minneapolis).
Front Row: (The Rev. Devon Anderson (Trinity, Excelsior), Ms. Julia New-Landrum (Church of the Holy Trinity, St. Paul), Ms. Laura Bathke, Vice President (St. Matthew’s, St. Paul), The Rev. Ramona Scarpace (St. Mary’s, St. Paul), The Rev. Blair Pogue (St. Matthew’s, St. Paul).
  • Monitors the search, nominating and transition processes
  • Oversees the electing convention and consecration
  • Makes the final recommendations of a slate for election

You can contact the Standing Committee regarding the overall search process at:

The Search Committee

The Bishop Search Committee includes: (ROW 1, from left to right) The Rev. Susan Moss, Chair (Misión Santo Niño Jesús, St. Paul), Ms. Barbara Swan (St. Clement’s, St Paul), The Rev. Margaret Thor (St. John the Evangelist, St. Paul), Ms. Emma King (St. Columba’s, White Earth) The Rev. Bao Moua (Church of the Holy Apostles, St. Paul), The Rev. Dana Emery (St. Luke’s, Detroit Lakes), Mr. George Thompson, Vice Chair (Church of the Holy Trinity Episcopal Church, St. Paul); ROW 2 (L-R) Mr. Andrew Piper (St. Luke’s, Minneapolis), The Rev. Julie Luna (St. Nicholas, Richfield), Mr. Patrick Hunner (St. Christopher’s, Roseville), Mr. Jim Huber (St. Mark’s Episcopal Cathedral, Minneapolis), The Rev. Tom Garrison (Ss. Martha & Mary, Eagan), Ms. Enid Kivuti-Kariuki (Nativity, Burnsville), The Rev. Michael Tippett, Team Chaplain (St. Paul’s Church, Owatonna). Not pictured: The Rev. Dawnlynn Greeney (St. James, Marshall). 
  • Responsible for deep listening and discernment around what kind of spiritual leader and skills are needed in the next Bishop of Minnesota
  • Formulating a position profile for Standing Committee approval
  • Developing the application process and materials for potential candidates, and for implementing a candidate screening process.
  • Attracting and reviewing quality candidates
  • Recommending a slate of 3-5 applicant names to the Standing Committee to be considered as bishop of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota

Contact the Search Committee regarding the current Bishop Search:

The Transition Committee

Back row: The Rev. Joy Caires (St. Clement’s, St. Paul), Minnie Steele (St. Mark’s, Minneapolis), The Rev. John Sullivan (Christ Church, Austin), The Rev. Colin Maltbie (Shattuck-St. Mary’s School, Faribault), The Rev. Chris Beebe (St. John’s, Mankato)
Front Row: The Rev. Beth Royalty, Chair (Calvary, Rochester), The Rev. Jackie Bernacchi (Episcopal Faith Communities of White Earth),
Ms. Emma King (St. Columba’s, White Earth) The Rev. Maggie Nancarrow, Co-Chair (St. Matthew’s, St. Paul), Ms. Susan Travis (St. Mark’s, Minneapolis)
Not pictured: The Rev. Judith DesHarnais (Messiah, St. Paul), Ms. Denise Graber (St. Mark’s, Minneapolis), The Rev. Chris Beebe (St. John’s, Mankato)
  • Coordinating the bishop candidate road trip
  • Working closely with candidates during the election process
  • Planning and implementing the consecration service for the new bishop

Contact the Transition Committee regarding the current Bishop Search:

Want to stay informed about what these committees are working on? Sign up for Updates from Team Search and Team Transition below.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close